18 Italian Cities Support Autonomy Initiative

Eighteen Italian communes in Canavese expressed their support for the autonomy initiative in the Moroccan Sahara.

In a joint declaration, 18 mayors of the Italian communes of Canavese, under the Piedmont region, "welcomed the process of advanced regionalization which provides for a new, more dynamic policy in territorial management".


To this end, the Italian communes have expressed their commitment to support this process "in which the autonomy initiative in the Moroccan Sahara has a central position".


The 18 representatives of the Italian communes also expressed their appreciation for the positive development noticed in Morocco, under the leadership of HM King Mohammed VI, in the area of upholding democracy and human rights, economic progress, women's empowerment and intercultural dialogue.


The 18 Italian communes said that the presence on Italian territory of a Moroccan community actively participating in economic development at regional and local levels represents a model of integration and understanding.


This joint declaration between the communes of Canavese and the Embassy of Morocco in Italy is in line with the spirit of the Strategic Partnership between Morocco and Italy signed in Rabat on November 1, 2019 and follows the institutional meeting held on January 25, 2020 in Rivarolo Canavese to identify the sectors of decentralized cooperation in economic matters and local management.


This declaration was signed by the communes of Bairo, Bosconero, Castellamonte, Cuorgnè, Favria, Forno Canavese, Levone, Lusigliè, Montalenghe, Oglianico, Ozegna, Rivara, Rivarolo Canavese, Salassa, San Giusto Canavese, San Ponso, Torre Canavese and Valperga.